Another (motivated) newbie!

Rattle that keyboard a bit and say hi, introduce yourself or tell us why you're here. For new members this is your first port of call
thefiercerabbit
UKLS New Member
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Sat Apr 13, 2019 2:55 pm

Hi everyone,

I have started lockpicking around two weeks ago, but I already have invested a lot of time since then!

Until this morning, I only practiced on a Master Lock M1 and two cheap Wilko padlocks I already had (which aren't really easier to pick/rake).

This morning I received a nice practice lock: a Master Lock Lockout/Tagout, with the famous 6 security pins core. I've managed to open it several times, the main difficulty being that I don't have good tension wrenches for this keyway and that my picks are a bit thick. But this wont be a problem anymore as I did a 180 degrees rotation and my lock is now dead (the key pins left the core and got stuck in the body of the lock). So, if you need a tip regarding these locks, don't turn more than 180 degrees! Even better, try the Brady LOTO padlocks instead (nice review from LPL on Youtube) that are cheaper (on eBay), secured (lockpicking wise) and have an interchangeable core!

Yesterday I've ordered around 15 used euro cylinders (removed from empty houses before setting new ones), that I hope won't be to easy to open.

I have a lockbuddy in France and we'll exchange our locks from time to time, so we can practice on a large variety of locks without having to spend too much. Moreover, we'll probably both invest in some re-pinning equipment (followers, pinning shoes, pins etc...) to create custom/challenge locks.

I hope to find some good information on this forum, and maybe I will be able to contribute too.

Regards,
C.

PS I live in Portsmouth!
Last edited by thefiercerabbit on Sat Apr 13, 2019 4:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
jwrm22
VIP Member
Personal Text: "Door hardware sportsman"
Has liked: 4 times
Been liked: 10 times

Sat Apr 13, 2019 3:12 pm

Hey C,